In an effort to reduce speeds and increase safety, the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) will be posting signs along portions of Interstate 95 to remind motorists that they can be charged with reckless driving if they are traveling more than 80 mph in a 70 mph zone.
Though it’s not a new law, many drivers may not realize that they can be charged with reckless driving for traveling 10 mph over the speed limit in a 70 mph zone.
Through the use of traffic sensors, VDOT identified areas on I-95 with 70 mph speed limits that have higher percentages of motorists traveling at speeds over 80 mph and also have higher crash rates.
Signs will be installed along these stretches of interstate in an effort to increase compliance with the speed limit and reduce crashes.
Under Virginia law, motorists can be charged with reckless driving if they are driving twenty mph or more over the speed limit or driving over 80 mph, regardless of the speed limit.
Reckless driving charges can be made for other driving behaviors in addition to excessive speed.
More information about reckless driving laws can be found online.
Penalties for reckless driving vary, but can range from a $250 fine to jail time.
For more I-95 information, visit www.i95exitguide.com, the Internet’s largest and most complete website devoted to America’s Interstate Main Street. Detailed exit service listings… discount lodging, camping, food, gas and more for every exit from Maine to Florida!