I-95 travelers in Maine… This is your one-month warning! A new law in Maine states that no handheld devices can be used while driving. This law will take effect on September 19th.
This bill prohibits a person from using a mobile telephone or handheld electronic device while operating a motor vehicle unless the mobile telephone or handheld electronic device allows for hands-free operation and the hands-free feature of the mobile telephone or electronic handheld device is in fact being used by a person 18 years of age or older or the mobile telephone or handheld electronic device is being used in order to communicate with law enforcement or emergency services personnel under emergency circumstances.
The bill retains the prohibition in current law against the use of a mobile telephone or handheld electronic device, both handheld and hands-free use, for a person who has been issued an intermediate driver’s license or for a person under 18 years of age.
The bill provides that the penalty for a first offense of the prohibition against using a mobile telephone or handheld electronic device while operating a motor vehicle is $75. The bill also provides that the penalty for a 2nd or subsequent offense within a 3-year period is $150.
For more I-95 travel info, visit www.i95exitguide.com, the Internet’s largest and most complete website devoted to America’s Interstate Main Street. Detailed exit service listings… discount lodging, camping, food, gas and more for every exit from Maine to Florida!